Saturday, January 23, 2010

Solo Cello

Gordon Cleland – Cello

Peter Higginson – Actor

Marinko Jareb – Visual Artist

Peter Feldman – Director

An exciting presentation of virtuosic contemporary solo cello pieces expanded and enhanced by the visual art of Marinko Jareb and the acting of Peter Higginson.

Sonnets by Nicole Carignan - a work in 3 contrasting movements crafted from and reevaluating the work of 15 Provençal women Troubadors from the Middle Ages Gallery Suite by Robert Muczynski
 - a lyrical suite in 9 movements inspired by the paintings of Charles Birchfield.
 After Reading Shakespeare by Ned Rorem
 - a virtuosic showpiece in 9 movements loosely based on several of the plays and sonnets of Shakespeare; one of the most impressive works for solo cello from the 20th Century. 
La Rosa Variations by Milton Barnes
 - a colourful and Spanish flavoured work on the theme of unrequited love; Milton Barnes was a former director of the Niagara Symphony.

Four great works in contrasting styles by Canadian and American composers; come and enjoy them!

No comments:

Post a Comment